Frequently Asked Question

Blocks - Basics (Add/Delete)
Last Updated 5 months ago

Blocks are items in Moodle which can be added to the left of our Moodle site layout (version Moodle 3.7, Altitude theme currently). You can delete or add blocks to your course - the changes you make as an instructor affects all students/participants in your course.

To add a block in your BeaconLearning course...

  1. Turn editing on
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and find the "Add a Block" block on the left side of the screen
  3. Select the block you'd like to add and the page will refresh with the new block

To delete a block in your course...

  1. Make sure editing is on
  2. On the block you'd like to delete, select the drop-down menu on the little gear 
  3. Choose "Delete block" 
  4. Choose "Yes" on the confirmation page

Too many blocks can make the page feel cluttered and overwhelming to students. Similar to the other content in your course, if it's not directly adding value delete it. Blocks are defaulted to come through in a course import, so you might have been keep blocks with you from year to year that never actually get used.

Please Wait!

Please wait... it will take a second!